So crazy, will it work. (Keg transfer)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

akegs

Reaction score
Hey guys so I have a problem. I just got a new kegerator for christmas! The problem is I don't have any homebrew to put in it. So what I was thinking of doing was trying to fill it with commercial beer. I would love to have it set up for the college football playoffs (go bucks) and new years eve. I don't have the equipment to hook up a sanke tap to my stuff so what I was thinking of doing was renting a commercial keg and tap, tapping the beer to my ball lock keg and then serving it in the kegerator from there. This is my first time playing with force carbing so I was wondering if anyone has tried anything like this before or knows if I will run into some major problems. I just don't wanna go for it and waste 5 gallons of beer. Thanks!

No, you'd oxidize the beer by dispensing it into the corney keg. But you could easily get a sanke set up that you can use with commercial kegs, and switch back and forth from corney kegs to sankes. I think I paid $20 for one a while back, and my friend 'borrowed it' and I no longer have it. Hopefully I can borrow it back sometime, when I want to use a commercial keg.

Otherwise, you'd need something like this to dispense commercial kegs in your homebrew set up: http://www.kegconnection.com/d-sanke-tap-with-mfl-tailpieces-ss-probe-all-stainless/

I don't think you'd oxidize the beer if you flush the corny with CO2 first, and rent a CO2 pressurized Sanke fitting with the keg, and pressure transfer to the corny through the diptube. You will oxidize it if you use one of the handpumped taps though.