Slow finish

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beerd

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all -

Another random quarantine musing that bubbled up while watching my airlock...

I have a tilt hydrometer so I can see SG change during fermentation. For the ales I've done, they usually drop pretty quickly to FG and then activity just stops. For OGs around 1.045 - 1.050 they'll drop something like .010 - .020 the first day or two, then maybe .005 and .002 on subsequent days and by day 5 or 6 they've hit FG. Once they hit FG, usually within 24 hours all airlock activity has completely stopped.

This is my first time doing a lager. I am on day 8 since pitching. SG has been at 1.010 for 2 days (since day 6) - however I am still seeing about 2 airlock burbs per minute. My expected SG is 1.008 (probably more like 1.006 due to calibration with the tilt).

I understand that lager fermentation typically takes longer overall due to lower temps and I am planning to leave it for at least 14 days. Just curious if it's typical for lager yeasts to have a very slow finish / long tail like this?

2.5 gallon batch.
Marris Otter SMaSH with an OG of 1.046
Mashed for 60 min at 152 dropping down to 150.
Pitched 11 g of W-34/70 at ~62
Chilled to 58 within ~4 hours
Fermented at 58 until day 4 (SG 1.018), then raised to 66.
There were signs of fermentation with in 12 hours and some krausen by 24 hours.

Thanks in advance for any insight you have!

Yes, I assume it's because I fermented on the warmer side for a lager. I've heard this strain can go a little closer to ale temps without putting off any serious off flavors.