Sam Adams Utopias clone - Calling all big beer experts! Paulthenurse and yeager1977

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JonAllenNH

Reaction score
Alright guys, so here's the deal. I'm making a Utopias clone for my CEO at my company (no pressure). This will be my first big beer - I generally stay under 6% and 8% is my max previously - and I just want to make sure I'm doing everything right. I'd love to get any recommendations. While I've made sure he knows there's no promises on how it will come out, I've been given a substantial budget for this brew to buy equipment and materials. I've been brewing for about two years now. Started as an extract brewer and moved to all grain (sort of - BIAB) 6 months later, so I don't have a TON of experience, but I have yet to make a bad brew, so I like to think I have a pretty good handle on things. Not to say I don't still have a ton to learn. I'm OK with having issues and making mistakes, but I want to avoid a complete train wreck. I've borrowed and tweaked a recipe from PaulTheNurse and Yeager1977. My CEO is a big Scotch drinker so I've added some Peat smoked malt in place of smoked malt and I'm planning on aging it with oak cubes soaked in peated whiskey. I'm also trying some new techniques in the mash. Here's my plan:

Batch Size: 3G
Boil Size: 6.5 gallons
Est Efficiency: approx 68% on average
OG: 1.206
FG: 1.033
IBUs: 25 (exactly the same as what Sam Adams claims)
SRM: 34 (exactly the same as SA)
ABV: 23.8% (a little short of SA which is 28%)
Total Grain bill: 24# 6.9oz

10# 14.5oz Pale 2-row
3# 10.2oz Munich Malt
3# 8.2oz Crystal 60L
2# 1.3oz Toasted Malt
1# 5.7oz Munich 10L
12.4oz Peat Smoked Malt
6.1oz Melanoiden Malt

Added to mash
.3 tsp Amylase Enzyme
.51oz Spalt hops
.51oz Tettnang hops