Running Chugger Entire Brew Session (BIAB)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Piperlester

Reaction score
I'm curious if anyone else has tried or knows of any reason that running a chugger (stainless head) in a whirlpool configuration from the moment you started heating your kettle, until you rack to the fermenter, would be detrimental?

My thoughts in support of this are:
-More consistent heat distribution throughout
-Lower chance of scorching wort (when initially heating - moving wort less likely to scorch, so more heat can be applied)
-Easier/more consistent addition of heat to entire kettle during mash

I'm new to using a pump and eager to see how it can possibly shorter up a brew day without doing something stupid :)

Thanks!

On a serious note, with a biab system, unless it is specifically designed for recirculation, such as the brew boss or grain father etc., recirculation is said to not be beneficial. In my experience, there are more temp swings and fluctuations from recirculation than just regular infusion and insulation. Biab also has the advantage of being able to grind a very fine grain and have fast extraction without the need of any recirculation. Biab is different in that a compact grain bed is not produced from recirculation as is in an infusion mash tun. You don't gain the same filtration and wort clarity in biab, as you do with a recirculating infusion mash tun. So as said above, unless the system is specifically designed for recirculation, in the mash for biab, it is not beneficial and could actually be worse.

On to the boil