Question about Apfelwein recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

suckr

Reaction score
Hello

I hate for my first post to be such a noobish question but..

While I have a couple simple extract beers going (still learning), I was interested in getting a batch of Apfelwein going. I went to my friendly LHBS to get some supplies and he did not have the Montrachet yeast. After explaining to him that I was making an apple wine (and I wanted to try for champane type carb.) he suggested a D-47 (Lalvin brand) yeast.

Since I'm still pretty new to this, is this an acceptable yeast to use?
Do I need to do anything special now to try to acheive champane or 'sparkling' carbonation or is that determined later at bottling?

He also suggested a pectic enzyme to add at the start. It's not in the recipe so I hadn't panned on using it but for $2 I picked it up anyways (I felt it was the least I could do since he kept giving me glasses and shots of his beer, wine, cider, and liqour, oh and a piece of cheese)

Any reason to add or not add this stuff? (Directions say .5tsp/gal)

Thanks in advance for any help. My lurking around here for a while has really prevented me from clogging up your nice site with all kinds of questions. Hopefully I add something a little more beneficial on down the line. :cross:

I've used D47 - it comes out with a little different flavor than with Montrachet, but it's still good.

You don't need to use pectin enzyme, unless you really heat up your juice, or use fresh fruit (neither of which you do with Apfelwein).

Finally, when you bottle, you'll add some additional corn sugar (~3/4 cup for a 5-gallon batch) to get it all nice and sparkly!

Welcome to HBT :mug:

Thanks for the quick reply :)