Sanity Check My First Cyser

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AlexKay

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've never done this before, but here's what I've managed to throw together in terms of recipe and process. Corrections and suggestions very welcome.

5 pounds black locust honey
2 gallons apple juice (store bought, no additives)
5 g Lalvin D47
10 g pectic enzyme
6.3 g GoFerm in 126 mL water
1.8 g Fermaid O spread over 24/48/72/X additions
44 g medium French Oak cubes in dark rum

Questions:
  1. The honey has crystallized. Can I just weigh it out into the fermenter, add the apple juice, and figure it'll dissolve and mix up eventually? Or do I have to liquify and then mix?
  2. Should I oxygenate the must? I have a tank and a wand.
  3. I'm musing about whether to replace 1 of the gallons of AJ with RO water, to move it a bit from cider towards mead (and so the apple doesn't overpower the honey.) Does this sound like a good idea or not?
  4. For the oak addition, I'm thinking about soaking it in dark rum for ~2 days, then adding both oak and rum to the fermenter when I think I'm a week or two out from bottling. Should I also add a dollop more honey at this point to restart fermentation and try to limit oxidation? Does this sound like the right amount of oak? Is the rum going to be too strong? How does the timing sound?
  5. I don't really have a suitable secondary fermenter. Can I skip secondary, ferment until dry in primary, then transfer with priming sugar into EZ-Caps? Or should I prime with honey?

The honey has crystallized. Can I just weigh it out into the fermenter, add the apple juice, and figure it'll dissolve and mix up eventually? Or do I have to liquify and then mix?