Panty hose vorlauf

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

meat803

Reaction score
I have been using pantyhose for filtering my first wort runnings instead of recycling vorlauf. I first started using pantyhose when dropping cooled wort into carboy. Easy filtration of break and hops. Anyway, seems to work equally as well when brewing AG for vorlaufing. I use cooler/braided hose as mash tun.

Im self taught and developed the use of pantyhose through my own trial and error. Can any gurus tell me how this is bad? Any feedback appreciated.

From what I understand the purpose of the vorlauf is to "set" the grain bed.
In other words the grain bed itself acts as the filteration mechanism.
If your method works keep at it.

"Panty hose vorlauf"

Heh. Sounds like the name of a movie. Not G. Not PG. Maybe not R.

I've heard of using panyhose for a hopsack. What you are doing seems fine, although unnecessary tbh. But if it works for you, keep on brewing!

Cheers!

Sounds like your using something for the wrong reason. Dzlater is right, vorlauffing has has nothing to do with hops and protein post boil. It has to do with setting the grainbed for a good runoff of sugars, and to filter out husks and grain particulate matter before it gets into the boil kettle.

I'm sure it does a good job for you as a filter, but it's NO replacement for a vorlauf session.

Sounds like your using something for the wrong reason. Dzlater is right, vorlauffing has has nothing to do with hops and protein post boil. It has to do with setting the grainbed for a good runoff of sugars, and to filter out husks and grain particulate matter before it gets into the boil kettle.

I'm sure it does a good job for you as a filter, but it's NO replacement for a vorlauf session.