Off Flavor After Conditioning

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slurms

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
This is my first post, so bear with me...

I've brewed about 4 or 5 batches (exclusively one gallon) this year so far. Usually an IPA-type of beer but also a porter and two american wheats. Given that I'm fairly new to home brewing, I like the idea of trying the beers weekly after bottling, just to see how the tastes change during conditioning.

For the most part, they all tasted pretty good the first week after bottling, and second week, and for some of them, the third week. However, as they continue to condition, the same taste pops up with all of them, regardless of beer style. From what I can tell, it seems to fit the description of oxidation; it starts to darken, the flavor of the style diminishes and it starts to get a sweetness to it (not sugar sweet like an under attenuated beer).

From what I gathered from looking through forums, oxidation usually presents itself at least 3-4 weeks from bottling (assuming the oxygen is introduced a that time). So, it's possible the change in flavor/color is attributed to this. I use an auto siphon to rack the beer from the carboy to my bottling bucket. I don't put a lid on the bucket since it doesn't take terribly long to bottle the 8 beers, so how much oxygen could really be absorbed into the beer during this time (right?). I've got a metal bottling wand attached to the bucket spigot with a short piece of tubing (2 inches or so) and no bubbles form in the tube and foaming in the bottles is a minimum.