NooB sour beer brewing questions/observations

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TrickyDick

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hey,

Thought I might start a new thread. Been polluting another thread with off-topic posts for months now, and want to quit the habit.

Since sour beers are growing in popularity it seems, I thought this might be a spot for beginners at brewing sour beers could post questions and look for answers. Maybe over time, the content could be distilled into a sticky or something, but for now, I had a few questions about process that are all over the board.

Personally, I've been homebrewing since 1999. Had my first intentionally sour beer at the Russian River brew pub in 2007 I think it was - Consecration. Bought a few different bottles while out there (incl Temptation, and another Consecration) to take home. I can honestly say that I didn't really love the beers back then. I didn't hate them, but they were different than I expected or knew. When I got home with the bottles I had purchased, and had time to drink them eventually, I moved more towards the "like them" end of the the spectrum, and after a recent trip last fall to San Diego (with more Consecration and some Red Poppy and a Dogpatch) I decided that I really liked the stuff! When I got home, I brewed a Consecration clone (split and fermented two ways), and then the next month a KBS clone which I pitched half of with Roeselare. Since then I've been addicted to beer trading and www.craftshack.com, much to the detriment of my bank account, though I've collect a nice library of craft beers - though most are the kind that you'd split with a friend, or sip slowly over a long weekend night as opposed to consuming in front of the TV on a weeknight or over dinner, many are