My on going keezer build finally finished?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beerman70

Reaction score
Where to begin? So I've been homebrewing since 1994. Like most home brewers I moved up to kegging sometime around 2006. That is when I build my first 1 tap kegerator with an old fridge I had laying around. Eventually this hobby turned into more an obsession and the 1 tap kegerator became a 3 tap.

Disclaimer: I've never done a post so my pictures will be all at the end. I'll post as many as the site will allow. Also sorry about the last 2 not being rotated, I don't know how to correct that.

Then I guess I grew bored with that setup around 2013. I follow homebrewfinds and one day I saw a great deal for a 6.8 cubic foot chest freezer at a big box store for about $170. I made a decision to start the next build using that. So I purchased it and didn't get around to opening the box right away since I still needed more materials. When I did though I was surprised to find out that it had been dropped and there was some damage to it. So I contacted the store and they were willing to do an exchange or give me a 10% refund. So once I confirmed that it still worked I opted for the refund since this is just cosmetic and will not be seen. Score! my build just got cheaper.
So the build begins. I had been collecting pallets for a little while at this point leading up to the build. Disassembling. Stock pilling.
First step was to build a frame. I knew this was going to be heavy and I'd need to move it to access around it so I put casters under it. Also as I was constructing this frame, I took into consideration that someday this freezer may break and I'd need to swap in a new one.
The next step was to fill in the sides and begin the top.