My liver getting a 2nd fermentation !

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Drunken Monkey

Reaction score
My 1st post after coming across this forum while doing some brewing research.

I started brewing beer in 1990 when liquid yeast of today was a pipe dream. 100’s of gallons under my belt with many being my own recipes. I mostly made strong porters, stouts, and ales being I like robust beers myself. But, also made other lighter beers in between. I also, made hard ciders as well.

But, after marriage and kids popping out starting in 2004. I sidelined my brewing and almost all but forgot the joy of it.

In 2014 I bought a new house with a 1/2 acre backyard on a large lot. I planted many fruit trees soon after. Now, many are mature and producing like mad. To the point we can’t keep up. So, it dawned on me to make wine 😁. I’d never done wine before, but had the jist on how things work. So, now I’m off to the races and have started 3 primary fermentations in the past week.

Being where I live almost everything grows. So, options are endless really. And, I intend to explore and experiment with many fruits. And, hopefully be able to aid other brewers along the way and pass along recipes. Being I have good notes on everything I do and have done. From strong 9% chocolate stouts to double fermented spiced cider.

hmm fruit wines are not that much different than ciders - sort of . what fruit you got. try mixing the fruits with grapes i find fruit flavored wines better and easier to make than straight fermented fruit juice .