My first HB

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

neohistory

Reaction score
Okay...so I've been quiet on the forums because I was waiting on my first beer to finish. The record shows that I had high starting temps because, being a newb, I rushed to get started. I didn't incorporate the swamp cooler until the 2nd batch (which bottling day is tomorrow) and I've been so crazy busy with 18 hours of classes, it's been sitting.

The recipe I was confused about what to choose, and not to mention I scaled down to 1 gallon recipes. After further opinion searching on this, the 5 gallon is cheaper to do and I realize that now.

The recipe I did was random...
Safale US-05 yeast
about 1 lb and 10 oz of Coopers LME Light
Probably half a pound or so of the Crystal 40 (I screwed up in boiling and did it in the middle of the boil instead of at the start, newb ******* again)
I did 1oz Chinook 11% at 60, .25oz 30 then did the specialty grain. After that I did at 15, .50 oz Northern (8%) acidity then I think 8 mins .25

There is a faint chill haze, glasstop sucks

The smell is almost fruity, the taste is a hint of fruity ester, but chinook has all that acid so it's almost Pale ale like. Northern Brewer...uhh not sure what it's doing, i guess for aroma? This bottle was at 3 weeks (a day shy of 3 weeks) and the head sucked. There is carbonation but lacking, there is some lacing on the glass.

After 6 sips, man that chinook is strong, but it's a different kind of bite compared to the store bought PA, but it's not like an IPA.

All in all...I would rate this a newb attempt of course, as I have no advance beer palette to compare the taste. The color is light amber, which is just fine.

Soooo...another week? 2 weeks to store?

Thank you for reading, comments, criticisms welcome.