Moving from Primary to Secondary?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blueeagles003

Reaction score
I am new to brewing beer and I have the West Coast IPA from brewers best in my primary fermenter currently. I’m on day 8 of my beer sitting in the primary. The airlock has been popping since day 2, and has slowed down at this point, but is still popping. The instructions that came with the Brewers Best kit strongly recommend moving the beer from the primary to the secondary carboy when fermentation has slowed, but not yet completed. It would appear I am currently in that phase of fermentation is slowing but not yet complete. I have read a lot of conflicting opinions on whether or not utilizing a secondary carboy is worth it. What does everyone think? Is moving an IPA from a primary to a secondary at this stage best practice? I’ve read some things about how moving to a secondary helps with clarity of the beer, is that true?

Unfortunately I made the mistake of not using my hydrometer at the onset of transferring my wort from the pot to the primary bucket, so the hydrometer doesn’t help me much at this point.

Appreciate any and all feedback/thoughts!

General consensus these days is not to use a secondary vessel unless doing a very long (months) rest. Usually this would be for a really high ABV beer or something funky (sours, brett, etc). (edit: or actual lagering)

For normal beer, just let it finish in primary, then package.

Are you bottling?
Thanks for the response! This isn’t a particularly high ABV brew (5.6% - 6.1%) so I guess nothing to worry about with that regard.