Transferred to secondary too soon. Dump it?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Good afternoon,

I am new to brewing and had began my first batch, American Pale Ale kit by Brewers Best. I made my wort, checked for gravity which was in range and pitched the yeast. 6 days later, I transferred the brew using a siphon to a carboy even though the Krausen has not settled (without checking final gravity and before the settling) since the instructions said to transfer to a secondary when the fermentation slows but before it completes. I now have this type of mixture (day 8), foam on top and appears to be sizzling and activity in the airlock. Should I wait it out 2 weeks or should I dump it now and restart? All suggestions appreciated and cant wait to learn from you seasoned brewers! Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_0634.jpeg
    IMG_0634.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0636.mov
    15.8 MB
The "storm" we see in your video is a sign of active fermentation!
The krausen (foam on top) is a natural occurrence and it will drop once fermentation slows down.

Let the beer be and the yeast do her thing for the next 2 (or even 3) weeks. No need to take gravity readings and such until she's completely done fermenting.
The one thing you can do is keeping the temperature in the area the beer is in as constant as possible. Or put the beer in an area where the temps are consistent 24/7. Most importantly, prevent temp drops, such as could happen overnight, as those could stall the fermentation.

since the instructions said to transfer to a secondary when the fermentation slows but before it completes.
Please ignore any instructions to using a secondary! They're old, outdated instructions. Phooey to Brewer's Best for not correcting that!