Maximize nutrients for fermentation efficiency?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hethacker

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hello,

I have been brewing for about 7 years now and have noticed what I think every brewer realizes: yeast work better and faster when they are given the proper amounts of nutrient additions. After some trial and error, and working more on the mead and cider side (where the main sugar ingredients are nutrient poor for yeasts) I think I have found a good way to increase fermentation activity, reduce off flavors, and decrease aging time for higher ABV wines, but it requires a hyper intensive nutrient step addition compared to brewing low ABV beer.
With this nutrient addition timeline, I have been able to make a 13.5% mead from starting gravity to 0.998 in 3 days. In fact, I have found that it is hard to catch it in time because the fermentation activity goes so fast, I generally have to add additional sugars for wines under 7% ABV because they finish fermenting in less than 36 hours.

Materials:
DAP
Fermaid O (if possible, choose over DAP)
Fermaid K
Yeast energizer
Aerating stone with pump (or better is an O2 tank, but I get by with an aquarium pump and 2 micron aeration stone)
Hydrometer/refractometer

I have found that instructions on the actual nutrient bottles tend to undershoot the amount of actual nutrient needed for the batch, if you use online wine nutrient calculators, they are more in line with the actual amount of nutrients needed.

Directions:
Create a starter for the dry or liquid yeast, ideally 4-8 hours before pitching (when fermentation activity should be at its highest).