Many questions: Do I secondary ferment?, dry hop pellets, cask widge, and kegging

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mikewildt

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I am fairly new to brewing, have probably about 6 brews under my belt, but many questions about my current brew and possible new techniques.

Past brews:
After the brew, I would
1.) cold crash my wort with the copper wort chiller right after putting minute zero hops in
2.) strain into my 6.5 gallon glass carboy for a 2 week primary (blow tube then airlock)
3.) auto-siphon transfer to another 6.5 gallon carboy with loose pellets in for my dry hop for 2 more weeks (with airlock)
4.) Auto-siphon transfer from secondary to keg, then force carbonate.

I have a Hop Screen on the end of my dip tube to help avoid clogging the keg with any additional sediment.
http://www.kegworks.com/homebrew-hops-screen-719-p174496?_s_icmp=nextopia

I know that not taking OG and FG is a total n00b move so on my current brew (brewed two weeks ago) I am doing it right. OG was taken and FG should be reached now so hoping to take the next step this weekend.

Now after much research over the past couple of days, I have seen a lot of techniques and am trying to figure out the best for me.

First off, I can't decide if what I was doing before by secondary fermenting was a good thing or not. If I am putting my already fermented beer (assuming FG was reached within two weeks on past beers) into another container, the leftover room would be filled with oxygen, not CO2, leaving my beer susceptible to infection. These steps were the way I was taught, in order to clear sediment, but am realizing it wasn't necessarily right.