Lambic with Intense Dirty Diaper Aroma

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jamest22

Reaction score
I have a Lambic that has been in a better bottle for 8 months. It was pitched with Wyeast Lambic blend and some Cantillon dregs. I've sampled it every couple months since I brewed it. In the past two months it has developed an intense, horrible dirty poopie diaper aroma. I am wondering if this is just a stage in the fermentation and aging process that will eventually subside, or if some undesireable bugs are at work and have ruined the beer. OG was 1.049, current gravity is about 1.016. This is my first time brewing a lambic.

Anyone out there experienced a poopie diaper stage in lambic fermentation? If so, is this normal and did it eventually age out?

8 months is a terrible time for lambic... I don't even bother tasting it until AT LEAST a year. It will, in all likelihood, subside.

I can't speak to the Dirty diaper aroma but that Gravity seems awfully high for an 8 month old lambic. Mine is only 3 months old and is currently sitting at 1.008 (as of 3 days ago). I think I had hit 1.013 within 2 weeks of pitching and I also pitched Wyeast 3278 lambic blend.

Is there anything else you can tell us? what temperature did you mash at? Did you do a turbid mash? etc.

I can't speak to the Dirty diaper aroma but that Gravity seems awfully high for an 8 month old lambic. Mine is only 3 months old and is currently sitting at 1.008 (as of 3 days ago). I think I had hit 1.013 within 2 weeks of pitching and I also pitched Wyeast 3278 lambic blend.

Is there anything else you can tell us? what temperature did you mash at? Did you do a turbid mash? etc.