Keggle Mash Insulator

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MW66

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been brewing a long time, but I'm always looking for ways to cut down my brew time, so I'm just getting into BIAB. I've used 2 keggles for my all grain setup, so going to BIAB, I was a little concerned about mash temperature loss with using the SS keggle. This was never an issue with my cooler and all grain setup and I like building stuff. Plus, I do a lot of my brews in the winter on my driveway and I live in Buffalo. So, I set off to construct a mash tun insulator for my keggle.

First, I need to get the right sized shell and this garbage can did nicely.

The garbage can fit nicely from a width perspective, but I needed to raise my keggle in the can so that it would sit flush on the ground or on my brew stand with the insulator on top. So, I glued down three pieces of PVC pipe for spacers,

Next, I flush mount a piece of 1/8" board onto the top so when I inverted it into the garbage can, it would rest on my PVC platform.

I wrapped my keggle in several wraps of wax paper to use as a pseudo mold release.

Then, I wrapped it in several sheets of foil as I intended this layer to stick to the foam. However, I first removed my spigot and my thermometer. My thermometer will be permanently removed,