IPA Fascination

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OkieTrappist

Reaction score
I hated IPAs before I started brewing. My fascination for the way hops work has changed me and they are now my favorite style. This past week I spent time in the NorthEast and tried 15 or 20 top rated IPAs that I can't get in my state. (Btw "Lunch" by Maine Beer Company is amazing).
So last night I tried 5 IPAs that weren't that great. Drank half of each. My then I poured all of the leftover beer into one big growler. It became a complex, delicious beer that rivals any IPA I've ever had. So, as a brewer, what can I learn from this? Don't be afraid to use many different hops in my IPAs? Complexity is good?

I feel ya... Had the same issue years ago. Was vehemently anti-IPA until I had Bell's Two Hearted ale. Then I tried Lagunitas' A Lil Sumpin Sumpin, followed by Hoppyum and DFH's 90 minute IPA.

My opinion has changed 180°!

One of the best IPA's I've brewed was a "clean-up" recipe to clear out a bunch of 1-2oz left over bags of hops in my freezer. IIRC, that recipe had 8 or 9 different hop verities in the flavor additions/dry hops. It was wonderfully complex.

I absolutely loved my first IPA. That's what got me into craft beer (pumpkin ale is what got me into homebrewing). I was at a restaurant and micro brewry CB & Potts. I tried their "Big Red" IPA. It was very piney. I remember telling my family I was with that day that it was like drinking Christmas. Loved IPAs ever since. I have a 5 gallon batch fermenting away as we speak.

Echoing the sentiments of the OP. I find IPAs very hit-and-miss. Used to hate them before I started brewing because more often than not they just weren't enjoyable, usually some nasty lingering aftertaste that I can't see how anyone would like.