Intentional Extreme Low Efficiency Brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

minorhero

Reaction score
Hello folks,

I'm pretty new to brewing and I'm not even sure if this is the right place to post this question, but I've been wondering if there is an advantage to intentionally having low efficiency when brewing. Specifically wondering if we can get vastly different flavors by perhaps having way more grain then normal and perhaps doing a shorter mash?

When making tea (I mean literal tea, not beer), the flavors of the tea change if the leaves are left too long in the water. I wonder if something similar happens with grain when making beer. So for example, if we could use 5 times as much grain and have 5 times shorter mash, would that change the beer flavor while not changing anything else? Has anyone already gone down this rabbit hole?

I was thinking about this because I was wondering if there are things we as homebrewers can do easier then commercial brewers. Commercial brewers have a lot of cool things going for them when it comes putting out a consistent and quality beer, but one thing homebrewers have is really cheap ingredients (simply because we don't use much compared to a commercial brewery). So can we emphasize that aspect and produce something that commercial breweries would struggle to reproduce?

Thank you guys for any thoughts, or if its already been done, with any information.

Specifically wondering if we can get vastly different flavors by perhaps having way more grain then normal and perhaps doing a shorter mash?

I see two potential problems with this idea...
- If you don't get complete conversion of starches to sugars/dextrins, you'll get starchy beer, with a shorter shelf life.