How to rig up a fan for my keezer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beavdowg

Reaction score
I recently got a chest freezer and am thinking about puttinga CPU fan inside it to help with the cool air circulation. I've read of others doing this. My question is how do you wire the fan into the system? Is the fan always on or does it come on only when the freezer turns on? I am not an electrician whatsoever so if this aint easy it just won't happen. Can you just plug in one of those "2 plugs into 1" into the temp controller so that when the temp controller turns on the freezer it turns on the fan also?

computer fans are normally 12v dc current. I think you are on teh right track with turning it off and on with the freezer. So when the compressor turns on the fan turns on so its not on alllll the time. Your issue is getting from 120v AC to 12v DC. I read about someone using an old cell phone charger and just splicing that straight to the fan. It would work but most cell phone chargers run at like 5v, which means your fan will run close ot half speed. This is probably fine and a cheap fix.

Just a thought!

easy solution.....buy a 9 volt plug at radio shack, twist the bare ends with the fan leads and electric tape. Plug the 9 volt on. This will be on all the time. I'd imagine a simple fan should last a while. You could also unplug the battery or put in a simple switch for when you won't be using the keezer for a while. This is as easy as it can get work and knowledge wise.
battery_lg.jpg

I just used a cell phone charger and drilled a small hole in the collar its on all the time.

Same here. My theory on this is: