Hefe Weizen/kegging/foam

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mbarabe1978

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm new to kegging and my first beer I have tune the system are an Hefeweizen and a saison. 2 highly carbonated beer. That being said I'm struggling to get a decent pour without too much foam. For my Hefe, I had to go overboard with beer line length... Very slow pour but no foam. I guess I have room to shorten my beer line.
On my Saison I have a 20' 3mm ID Eva Barrier tube...which seems crazy. The pour is quite slow and still foamy!
I first used picnic tap which I thought could cause more turbulence... But I've got an identical problem with my new Nukatap.

I'm bit lost on what I should do... Just settle for a very slow pour?
From what I read, a typical pour rate would be a 10sec/pint... That seems quite fast! At least for heavily carbonated beer...
Slightly off topic. I'm using Eva Barrier line. It seems that the resistance is fairly low /foot vs other. I feel a 4mm 15' line is on the very short side even for a 12psi served beer.

Any suggestions will be welcome and helpful.

Thx

Having 2 different size lines, 3 mm and 4 mm probably does not help as it would make it easier if both lines were same diameter. What were both beers carbonated at? What PSI are you set at?