Grapefruit Hibiscus Gose Help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheMadKing

Western Yankee Southerner and Brew Science Nerd
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm building a recipe for a grapefruit hibiscus gose, and I've never used hibiscus before. Based on my thread searches, people either add it to the boil, dry hop with it, or make a tea and add it to the keg.

My goal is a beer colored and flavored drink, but with accents of grapefruit and hibiscus. I definitely do not want a pink milkshake that doesn't taste like beer. Refreshing light beer with accents.

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated! My recipe so far is:

4lb 2 row
4lb white wheat
6oz melanoindin

Mash at 147 for 60 minutes, cool to 120, pitch a lacto starter and sour to 3.3pH

Boil
0.4 oz hallertau at 60 minute 7 ibu
add the zest of 1 grapefruit at 15 minutes
0.25 oz of coriander at 15 minutes
0.75 g of sea salt

1 oz of hibiscus at 15 minutes??????

Ferment at 65 with a kolsch or german ale yeast

Thanks!

So after more research, it looks like I'm going to end up with a pink beer no matter what I do. For the least amount of color, I think I'll use hibiscus extract, or make a tincture with vodka and dump the vodka into the keg.

I would appreciate any advice from people who have used hibiscus.

Yeah, you're not going to get a yellow beer if you use any hibiscus in a quantity where it actually lends flavor or aroma to the beer.

Even making a tincture with vodka is going to turn the vodka purple. I guess it depends on how much of the tincture you add to the beer which will determine the color. But that comes right back around to not adding enough will prevent you from getting any hibiscus flavor.