Good starting kit with decent future all-grain potential?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tabernak

Reaction score
I'm a complete newb to brewing, but want to start with something worthwhile, how would something like this work?
http://www.midwestsupplies.com/products/ProdByID.aspx?ProdID=7587

I've been reading up on brewing online and this seems to meet my needs. I'd like to start a few batches in the next few months, 1 of which would be a lager to start while it's cool enough. I figure I can use the carboy to store the lager and make a couple ales in the meantime. I'd imagine all-grain potential is at least several months out for me, but I could see trying it eventually. I've seen several people recommend midwest in the forums and the prices seem decent. I'm just hoping for some feedback from experienced people before buying my xmas present to myself. Hopefully I'll enjoy it more than the watercooling for my pc I was considering.

Thanks in advance!

Not a bad kit, but I'd look for something without the bottles, since they are easy to come by (recycling centers, friends, and the beer you drink yourself) and it's not really worth it to buy them new.

Additionally, if you are seriously considering AG, I'd invest in a bigger (7.5gal or more), brew-pot. You'll need it eventually anyway, and there's no reason why you can't do full boils now.

The basic starter kit for 60 bucks is a good place to start and still leaves you with more than enough to buy a bigger pot from a different retailer. If you want carboys now for secondary fermentation, I'd go with this kit
http://www.midwestsupplies.com/products/ProdByID.aspx?ProdID=6875 or the one that only has one Better Bottle.

For stainless steel stockpots