Gelatine added to Keg

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dickdeath

Reaction score
I’m new to brewing but already obsessed with having a clear beer. I added whirlfloc to my latest creation, Old Speckled Hen clone from Brewfather. I have been reading that I can add hot water containing gelatin to my brew once kegged to help clear it further. Is this true and would I need to get water to same ph as the brew ?

Chill newly fermented beer down to cold serving temp, like 35F. Mix 2/3 cups of water and 1 tsp of unflavored gelatin in a microwavable measuring cup. Heat to around 150F, add to cold beer, give keg a wee swirl and start carbonating.
Awesome thank you!!

As others have said, the gelatin will help clear things up. Anecdotally, I had an orange cream ale I wanted to be very clear, and after a 2 day cold crash, added gelatin, waited another 2 days, and then bottle conditioned it. It came out crystal clear, and the flavor wasn't affected, definitely a fan of the gelatin.

It is probably much better in the keg, the gelatin can make it take a while to carbonate in bottles.

I have a beer I put gelatin along with priming sugar in a pin for a July 4th party. It's at 72* ,and will get chilled to 33* in 2 weeks. I hope that's enough time to carb up.

I know I was to add isinglass but only had gelatin. I'm hoping that the action of re-fermentation will keep it in suspension until I chill it to server. Need 72* to carb it up ion 2 weeks,and it's a 2565 fermented one and I'd like to serve it as clear as possible.
When you give a clear homebrew to some people they can't believe you made it, and I love that!