Found out that sanitization and sterilization are different...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cfrazier77

HBT Supporter
Reaction score
So, after homebrewing for a decade and a half I am still learning.

I have some extra base malt I need to use up before it goes stale. I figured I could make some starter. Normally I make starter by putting DME, yeast nutrient, and water in quart mason jars and putting them in the pressure cooker. I have 1.040 wort ready to go whenever I need it. The pressure cooker makes it pasteurized, sterilized, and it holds for as long as I need it. I figured that if I mash, then boil hard for 10 minutes, the wort would be sterile. If I soak the jars, lids, and rings in buckets of star san and then fill them with boiling wort it should be good to go. I had enough jars for 8.5 gallons, so I made 8.5 gallons.

I was wrong. Everything went well, the lids "popped" and all the jars had a good seal. I boxed them up and put them away. I ran out of boxes so 3 jars were on a shelf. I noticed yesterday that there was some foam on the top of the wort in one on the shelf. Closer inspection, the lid was not sealed anymore and looks like fermentation is happening. It did not smell good. There was a layer of something that looked like snot on the top, and on the bottom. So, drag out the boxes and check other jars..... Out of 8.5 gallons worth, only 1.5 gallons were still sealed and had no visible signs of fermentation.