Did I just make some crystal malt? Is it what its supposed to look like?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beginnier927

Reaction score
It is not finished yet

There is another round within which I'll raise the temperature to up to 300F and give it it's final color
I've never done this before

It's it what its supposed to look like on the inside? And if I make a tea with it, should it sweet? Like real sweet?

IMG_20230409_224648.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
This is the color of the tea
It's not so sweet
Maybe just a little bit
Is that ok?

Tasted it again, it's barely sweet, a bit bitter
People say like it tastes sweet, should it taste so sweet? Mine is barely sweet

Yours looks fine. Different crystal malts taste differently. They are made of different type of sugars, the shorter ones taste sweeter than the longer ones. The shorter ones are easily fermented, the longer ones stay in the beer and push the residual sweetness and mouth feel.

Yours looks fine. Different crystal malts taste differently. They are made of different type of sugars, the shorter ones taste sweeter than the longer ones. The shorter ones are easily fermented, the longer ones stay in the beer and push the residual sweetness and mouth feel.
Is it ok if it's not sweet? The tea is a bit bitter and slightly sweet just a tiny bit