"Crisp" Beer.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChandlerBrewery

Reaction score
So I've been brewing for a few years now. I'm an all grain brewer with a gravity tiered system that I built myself (including converting kegs and coolers). One thing has me puzzled and I've decided to consult my HBT peers before I consult Papazian and Palmer's writings. What is the contributing factor to a "crisp" beer? This is the biggest difference between my beer and the "pro's" beer. I hope everyone knows what I'm talking about, but the only additional description that I can offer is that most of my beers have a "softer" taste than the "pro's".

I am sure it's probably not one ingredient (it may even be a technique) - but if I had to guess, I would say it's the water? I am not confident to this answer because I've used different water in my brewing experience and have gotten some "crisp" beers and some "soft" beers using the same recipe.

I also have experimented with the bittering hops and this is also inconsistent for me.

I feel stupid asking this question, as I'm expecting Revvy to come and provide me with a "really simple" answer. :)

Nonetheless, I appreciate whatever advice and wisdom comes my way.

Crisp comes from a lot of places. Often this can be dryness- control over the process can give you a good handle on where your beers finish. Homebrewers often neglect some small part of the process which can cause beer to not attenuate as well as they'd like, and have to compensate by adjusting recipes, which changes the balance of the beer.