Conical fermenter drain question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DamnRedhead

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm brewing with a group of people from work, and we have a 10 gallon conical fermenter with a 1/2" threaded drain towards the bottom. They have it going down to a 5/16" hose through a threaded to barbed adapter, and it takes FOREVER to drain.

I was thinking of replacing it with at least a 3/8" or maybe 1/2" tube to drain from. I mentioned this to one guy who's been around for a while and he said they used to have it drain into a 3/4" hose, but because it was so much larger it would make air mix in with the beer, so they went really small.

Wouldn't a 1/2" hose be perfectly fine? I don't want to waste money, time, or look like too much of an idiot.

I'm not a pro but I do think you want the hose to be completely full of liquid while racking so as not to aerate the fermented beer.

Yeah definitely Johow... I just want to know the max size tube I can use without aerating it.

I don't own a conical but I use 3/8 tubing for racking from my fermenter and it works well and doesn't seem to take too long.

Can you get your fermenter up a little higher? When you open that bottom port your actually siphoning. You might see enough improvement with what you have if you can just get a bigger height difference.

Going out of the bottom of a conical is't a siphon.

si·phon
ˈsīfən/Submit
noun
1.a tube used to convey liquid upwards from a reservoir and then down to a lower level of its own accord. Once the liquid has been forced into the tube, typically by suction or immersion, flow continues unaided.