Cider / Apfelwein brew won't start fermenting

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Appelwoi

Reaction score
Hi, I have a beginner's question about why a demijohn full of pressed organic apple juice will not start fermenting. Other brews from (nearly) the same batch are doing fine. I've consulted threads on the subject, and none of the recommended remedies seems to work. As a beginner, I expected getting a decent result would be a challenge, but I never imagined getting fermentation to start would be difficult.

Some background... I was unexpectedly offered a large quantity of apples (eaters, variety unknown), which I had pressed (thank you, Chiltern Ridge!). [This is my official excuse for not doing much pre-planning]. I filled a 24-litre (~5 gallon) bin and two 4.5-litre (~1 gallon) glass demijohns. I added sodium metabisulphite & waited 24 hours, then added dextrose, pectalose and yeast, and fitted airlocks. The bin and one demijohn started fermenting, but the other demijohn didn't. After 2 weeks it barely has a bubble on the surface.

The awkward brew is slightly different to the others, in that it contains 1 litre of organic crabapple juice (strained after boiling, not pressed) and the others don't. Otherwise it os being kept in the same conditions as the successful brews. Thinking I may have overdosed with Na2S2O5 and/or sugar (although the other vessels are doing fine) and/or crabapple juice, I diluted it 50/50 with shop-bought apple juice. I ended up with *two* inactive demijohns (SG 1.075).