Back in the saddle again!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matt B

Reaction score
Hello, I'm actually new to HBT but I was once a very avid brewer. I started brewing in the early 2000s and brewed until my first child was born in 2009. I have been wanting to get back into the hobby for a while now and decided to give it a shot this past weekend. There is a small wine making supply store not too far from me that also has a few beer making supplies. We stopped in and I picked up a Brewer's Best American Amber kit and it is happily bubbling away in the basement.

When I left the hobby I was DEEP into it. It was quite a change when I told my brewing friends I was quitting the hobby. I was even the local club's "Resident Guru". I did yeast slanting and cultured up my own yeasts. I had built a Taste and Aroma home lab kit to help me pull out and recognize off flavors and aromas in my beers. I didn't enter many competitions but the few I did enter I did quite well in. So, to be starting back with a Brewer's Best Kit feels kinda nice honestly. Really getting back to the roots of the hobby.

I have no immediate intention of moving back to all grain anytime soon simply for time's sake. I now have two young children and my time is stretched even thinner than it was in 2009 when I left the hobby. The brew I did this weekend took me less than two and a half hours to do. My all grain batches were about an eight our event.

I wanted to pop on here and introduce myself and tell everyone here that I look forward to talking shop and seeking advice as I move forward. It's been fun "remembering" everything there is about this hobby!

-Matt B