A homemade yogurt thread

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kent88

Sometimes I have to remind myself
Staff member
Mod
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been making yogurt for the past several months, and I have a simple tweak (my wife came up with it) that others probably have done but I don't hear about too frequently, I add dry milk powder.

While whey has all kinds of fantastic proteins, I really don't like runny yogurt, and I don't like seeing all that liquid after it separates out. I didn't like that I was pouring all that good stuff down the drain. I also don't care for the texture of the mass-produced greek yogurt I've tried.

So I add about 1.5 to 2 cups dry milk powder to make a final volume of 7.5 to 8 cups of a milk super-solution. I re-pasteurize the milk, pour it into some pint ball jars, let it cool to where I can touch the jar without worrying about it burning my hands, then add some Dannon yogurt as a starter, and incubate it in an insta-pot (it has a setting for it!) for 8-12 hours.

Then I'll put it in the fridge until I get hungry, and I'll put some fruit on it.

IMG_20180530_002851.jpg
IMG_20180530_002946.jpg
IMG_20180530_003047.jpg

Here is some of my yogurt with rhubarb sauce and raspberries.

So I just bought an Easiyo, I dunno if this is a local New Zealand thing or international, but basically a Supermarket yoghurt kit thing that you add sachets of milk powder + culture to.

I tried the Greek yoghurt ingredient pack, and honestly I'm blown away at how good it came out. I was expecting cheapish-tasting watery crap from the kit but this is totally on par with the mass-produced brands.