5 Hops IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Edman89

Reaction score
Hey group, I've been doing a lot of reading and a lot of IPA and pale ale drinking. I recently bought the Kama Citra Session IPA kit from Northern Brewer and then started getting ideas. This comes with centennial, cascade, and citra hops, and then after reading some hop character charts, I went to me lhbs and picked up a few oz of amarillo and challenger hops with the intent to do a dry hop 2-3 days before bottling, and potentially one at the start of fermentation with a steeping bag and remove either a few days later or at the time of second dry hop. Basically trying to go for a hazy juicy mango ipa. That being said as I'm still a novice, of those that have experience with these hop combos and dry hopping, can I get your thoughts on hop schedule? Also, will adding mango purée or dry freeze powdered mango add any significant alcohol content to the final measurement, say .75-1.5%, or is that overly optimistic? Mentioned the dry freeze powder as I've read it's more heavily concentrated and takes less to add to the fermenter while also preserving that precious beer liquid. Thanks for the input 👍

Attachments

• IMG_7106.jpeg
    IMG_7106.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 0
You can definitely dry hop more than what the kit states, it already has a dry hop of 1oz each of Citra and Cascade. Amarillo would add more citrus/orange aroma and flavor. Save the Challenger for a stout or English bitter. My suggestion is to dry hop 3 or 4 days into fermentation (while it's still active) to minimize oxygen exposure. That fermentor is great but the lid doesn't allow for streaming in CO2, unless you rig something for the blowoff port.