Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

moonjee88

Reaction score
Hello, everyone! I'm new to homebrew talk but I've been brewing for about 2 years and it's time for an upgrade! I've been researching a DIY controller.
The setup I'm going for is a single vessel eBIAB, one pump for recirculation/counterflow chilling, 20a 120v power, 2250w heating element. I have a 20a circuit w/GFCI in my kitchen ready to go. I want a controller with that extra oomph beyond 15a with control of the element (independent of main power) and the pump. My research led me to this wiring diagram that covers the whole build. Thanks to doug293cz and Bart Mink for the diagram! :mug: It might be a blast from the past for you guys, I think it was posted a few years ago at this point.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/19UR7b80pX73DlHD5bVrG_rqgMywqT6mz/view

Here is my parts list so far. The fuses and their holders are left out, see my questions below.

So I guess my questions are:
  1. What fuses do I need, what holders are compatible with them, and what's a good source for them?
  2. Which PID has better features and user experience? (the latter is more important to me)
  3. Is that the right SSR to go with either of these PIDs?
  4. Is there anything I am missing or have mismatched?
Thank you in advance!

Design looks good. You don't really need 2X 1A fuses - you can run the PID/EZBoil and a contactor coil off of the same 1A fuse. Two fuses and two branches will also work fine. Make sure the high current wire is 12AWG (design shows 14AWG which is correct for 15A load.)