What's an ideal strike for a biab Pilsner?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ThePonchoKid

Reaction score
And what do you think about this for a recipe:

1 lb flaked corn
1 lb buscuit
1 lb vienna
7 lb pilsner
60 min 1oz. NZ motueka (pellet) 6.6% aa
20 min 1oz. " " " " " " " "
2 packs of 37/40 at an ambient of 48F

I'm just after a nice bready pils/lager, with a bit of a kick and slightly on the acidic side

And what do you think about this for a recipe:

1 lb flaked corn
1 lb buscuit
1 lb vienna
7 lb pilsner
60 min 1oz. NZ motueka (pellet) 6.6% aa
20 min 1oz. " " " " " " " "
2 packs of 37/40 at an ambient of 48F

I'm just after a nice bready pils/lager, with a bit of a kick and slightly on the acidic side

I'm a newbie, but I'm going to guess whatever temp is going to get you a 149-155 F mash temp is good. There are tools out there that scientifically help you get the right strike. I play it by ear, which works ok.

At that recipe looks awesome to me.

I think I want it floating around 150-152 by 30 min in to the mash. mash out at 149 would be nice. I think

thanks on the recipe

i took the hop schedule from a supposed labatt blue clone. different hops though.

I'm hoping the 1lb additions will bring some texture, some bready feel. we'll see how she goes :)

150-152F seems like a good mash temp for what you are looking for, but it's hard to say because I don't really know what you're looking for in terms of body.

Be sure to boil that for at least 90 minutes, or else you risk getting detectable levels of DMS due to the excess SMM in the pilsner malt. So, boil it for 30 minutes before your first hops addition.