Yeasty Tasting Beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mcgnash3

Reaction score
I am a noob. I bottled my 3rd batch about 4 weeks ago and like my 2nd batch, it came out with a very yeasty flavor. I have brewed them from kits, ferment in a glass carboy and bottle condition. I'm not sure why my first batch, a Scottish Ale came out great, and my 2nd (Brown Ale), and 3rd (American Amber) batches have been so yeasty tasting. Anyone have any ideas?

The first thing I would think of when I think of yeasty tasting beer is simply young beer. Beer younger than about 5-6 weeks old might taste very yeasty, particularly with a non-flocculant yeast strain.

The first cure is simply patience. Bottle conditioned, and then let to sit for about 4 weeks before refrigerating, and then in the fridge for 48 hours might greatly improve the yeasty flavor.

What kind of beer is it, and how old is it?

How long do you keep them in the primary and secondary? Too short in either can prevent the yeast from falling out of suspension. Also, when you pour a homebrew, it helps to try to keep as much sediment in the bottle as possible. Different yeasts can taste more or less yeasty? Did you use the same strand in the scotch ale as the others?

What kind of beer is it, and how old is it?[/QUOTE]

It is an Amber Ale and I left it in the glass carboy fermenter for about 4 weeks before bottling. I have left it in the bottles for another 4 weeks before drinking any of it. It is still a bit cloudy in the bottles.