Four beginner questions. Warming garage fermenter in winter? Also, Brewer's Friend/Recipe Help!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bmac8

Reaction score
Folks, I am a noob to all-grain. I have a 14.5 gallon fermenter with which to make 13+ gallons of beer. My problem is, I am working in a cold garage in Oregon (current temp is 46 degrees--too cold for ale.) My wife is happy I am out of her kitchen!

Here are my questions:

1. Best ways to heat the fermentor
2. How to handle plumbing? There's no sink in my garage... am I looking at waste and runoff going into a bucket?
3. When filling brew vessels from tap/hose bib... is it okay to just use a garden hose?
4. I already have ingredients--do any of these softwares work out a recipe backwards--FROM the ingredients you have? I am trying to make a very basic American (probably pale) ale.

Ingredients I am holding:

25 lbs of Rahr 2-row American grain
Cascade Hops
Dry American Ale Yeast
Irish Moss
Gypsum
Pineapple essence--I will use a very minimal touch at the end. Just for some signature.
Additional malt for priming (instead of corn sugar) as I will be bottling.

In the past, I have used 5-gal buckets and I had a lot of success with box kits (canned malt and DME.) This whole stainless steel and all-grain process is very intimidating, but I am going in anyway! Any advice on the questions I ask above is greatly appreciated! Thank you!!!

You have 4 completely different questions here. You should make 4 posts because otherwise you won't get answers because somebody doesn't have an answer for all 4. Or you'll get answers and debate on one of them and be sitting there saying "Hey, what about my other questions!?" Or when sometime says "That's what I do." your don't know which one they're talking about.