Add yeast at bottling for Late Summer Saison?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ChadChaney

Reaction score
Ok guys, here is my situation and question(s)... This is my first attempt at a higher gravity beer and on brew day my hydrometer broke so I had to use a friends. His is old, worn and beat up so the only reading I could get was 10% ABV for starting gravity. I pitched 2 dry packets of T-58 yeast and had a nice strong fermentation for 2 days and then bam nothing on the airlock, so I gently recirculated the yeast and have steady action(1 bubble every 45 sec-1min) since. I fermented at a high temp for the first few days, mid 80's, to really get that nice Belgian-y set of characteristics, I am in no real hurry to bottle this beer, but I do want to add yeast at bottling to add complexity, herein lies the questions;
1. What is the best way to do this?
2. How much and what type of yeast?
3. how do I make sure I do not get bottle bombs?

Any help is greatly appreciated..

First, I wouldn't even worry about this if I were you. Since this is one of your first beers, you should have a lot of other things to focus on in regards to improving your beer, and any "complexity" that you may gain from re-pitching is going to be negligible. If you decide to anyway, on to your questions:
1. Add the yeast to your bottling bucket at the same time as your priming sugar, assuming that you've cooled the sugar solution properly.
2. If I were going to re-pitch, I would do something neutral like US-05 or the same yeast I used to ferment in the first place and probably 1/3 packet of dry or 1/2 packet of liquid.