Cold Crash Sucks

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dogtailale

Reaction score
Im fermenting at 65 degrees using a blow of tube for about a month.
I use a refer with a 2 stage temp controller All this done it the shop the water in that bottle was not very good looking.

Well I turn the temp down to 40 that bottle gets sucked down.:(

Obviously I did something wrong. What is the right way.

I'm not sure, I'm a noob and haven't run into this yet, but I think maybe swapping the blow tube for a standard bubbler or airlock when you dropped the temp would have helped.

It sounds like when you turned the temp down the pressure of the gas in your fermentor's head space dropped and drew the water from your blow off tube reservoir back into your fermentor.

Then again, I'm a noob, so I'm sure some one will jump on and tell you my head is up my "bleep" and tell you what really happened.

But there must be a way to cold crash with out this happening because plenty of people around here do it successfully.

Have you tried using the site's search function with key words like "how to cold crash" I bet there's a thread on this topic sticky-ed somewhere.

Good luck in the future, and don't give up! :mug:

Temperature changes inside the fermenter will cause a vacuum- it's basic physics. BUT sometimes people forget to mention it, I guess.

Next time, take off the airlock and/or blow-off tubing. Either replace it with a carboy cap or a piece of sanitized foil. It's done fermenting, or else you wouldn't be cold crashing so you don't need an airlock anymore.

Temperature changes inside the fermenter will cause a vacuum- it's basic physics. BUT sometimes people forget to mention it, I guess.