Newbie Brewer Attempting Maple Cream Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Feldmann

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I've been brewing for almost a year now and I've been browsing the forum here for awhile just for little tips and tricks but this is my first time posting but right now I need a little bit of advice.

Most of the recipes I've done up until now have been fairly simple but I wanted to try something a little bit different so I found the recipe for a local micro brew I liked and took it to my local shop and got almost everything I needed, here is the recipe:

http://www.beertools.com/library/recipe.php?view=4819

.5 lbs Weyermann Carafa® I; Weyermann
.5 lbs Munich Malt
.25 lbs Black Roasted Barley
3 lbs English 2-row Pale
4 lbs Liquid Light Extract
0.5 lbs Maple Syrup
1 oz Tettnanger - 4.5 AA% whole; boiled 60 min
1 oz lactose powder - (omitted from calculations)
27 tbsp maple syrup (1 1/4 cup to prime at bottling) - (omitted from calculations)
White Labs WLP029 German Ale/Kölsch

I've sort of adventured out of my little safe bubble so I need a little help with a few things:

1. Where can I find lactose powder? I live in Canada, is it called anything else?
2. When do I add the lactose powder? I've read that I should add most during the boil then add the rest before bottling to taste
3. When should I add the maple syrup? Theres seems to be differing opinions on this
3. Can anyone recommend a good maple syrup for brewing with?
4. ANY advice that would help me out, something that I should consider since this is my first venture "outside of the box"

I won't take hand holding as an insult! I'll appreciate a step by step guide so I know for 100% I'm not messing it up!