Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kegerators and Keezers > Keezer build with questions!
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2011, 04:43 PM   #1
fhhobbies
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: winnipeg, MB
Posts: 152
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default Keezer build with questions!

First I would like to say hello to everyone, this is my first post here and hope to have many more! Basically what I am doing is converting a Danby freezer, I think its about 15 or so cubic feet. I already have 4 kegs, digital tem controller, and just placed an order from Kegconection for a 4 tap system with all the upgrades.... the 4th tap is actually going to be Nitrogen setup with a wine faucet for my wife, other 3 will be Co2 beer. First thing I want to do is figure out how to wire up this controller, I'm just not 100% sure so I thought I would ask for help on this. I will include pics of my stuff.

img_3463.jpg   img_3464.jpg   img_3465.jpg   img_3466.jpg   img_3467.jpg  

__________________
fhhobbies is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 04:44 PM   #2
fhhobbies
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: winnipeg, MB
Posts: 152
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

.... one more.

img_3468.jpg  
__________________
fhhobbies is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 04:53 PM   #3
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 11,223
Liked 1383 Times on 1116 Posts

Default

Referring to this pic:

Connect an AC line cord with a male plug at the end, black wire to pins 1 and 3, white wire to pin 4.

Connect an AC line cord with female socket at the end, black wire to pin 2, white wire to pin 4.

Connect a temperature probe to pins 7 and 8.

[edit] Also, connect the green (grounding) wires from both line cords together!

Cheers!

__________________
day_trippr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 04:57 PM   #4
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 17,170
Liked 3253 Times on 3153 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

Easiest way IMO is to build a box to plug the fridge into like shown in the STC-1000 thread. The terminals are in a different order for this model, but everything else should be the same. The controller you have is only rated for 5 amps, so you should read the tag on your fridge and make sure it doesn't draw too much. Here's a simple diagram for that controller-



This shows the nuetral being switched, but you can switch the hot instead if you prefer.

__________________
JuanMoore is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 05:16 PM   #5
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 11,223
Liked 1383 Times on 1116 Posts

Default

fwiw, the switch is rated for 10A at 110v.

Switching neutral always freaks me out, and I'd never wire anything that way, but it is permissible...

Cheers!

__________________
day_trippr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 05:25 PM   #6
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 17,170
Liked 3253 Times on 3153 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by day_trippr View Post
fwiw, the switch is rated for 10A at 110v.

Switching neutral always freaks me out, and I'd never wire anything that way, but it is permissible...

Cheers!
You're thinking of the STC-1000. I have both, and the one posted in this thread is only rated for 5A.

And I also wired all of mine to switch the hot. I drew the diagram for someone who was trying to switch the neutral and was having some issues.
__________________
JuanMoore is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 05:43 PM   #7
fhhobbies
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: winnipeg, MB
Posts: 152
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Thats a big help, so everyone leaves the stock controller in place and just maxes it out I assume? Also my power cords in the freezer are not color coded, they just have a smooth side and a ribbed side.

__________________
fhhobbies is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 05:54 PM   #8
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 17,170
Liked 3253 Times on 3153 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fhhobbies View Post
Thats a big help, so everyone leaves the stock controller in place and just maxes it out I assume? Also my power cords in the freezer are not color coded, they just have a smooth side and a ribbed side.
It doesn't really matter what you set the stock thermostat to since even the warmest setting is colder than you'll need it. Hold the plug up and pretend to plug it into the outlet drawn in my diagram to figure out which is which. Like I said though, the easiest thing is to make a control box that the freezer plugs into.
__________________
JuanMoore is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 05:58 PM   #9
fhhobbies
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: winnipeg, MB
Posts: 152
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Cool, ok I will build a box and wire it up like your pic, ty!

__________________
fhhobbies is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 07:11 PM   #10
day_trippr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Stow, MA
Posts: 11,223
Liked 1383 Times on 1116 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanMoore View Post
You're thinking of the STC-1000. I have both, and the one posted in this thread is only rated for 5A.
Nope, I was actually just going by the picture that was posted by fhhobbies. Sure looks like it's rated at 10A for 110v applications. Are those labels erroneously applied?

Quote:
And I also wired all of mine to switch the hot. I drew the diagram for someone who was trying to switch the neutral and was having some issues.
I think that's prudent. To me, "off" should always mean "nothing hot in there"...

Cheers!
__________________
day_trippr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The keezer build is finally finished! Keezer porn attached. GRHunter Kegerators and Keezers 21 08-31-2014 02:16 AM
Jersh's Keezer build... Keezer thread #1,493,829 Jersh Kegerators and Keezers 40 05-22-2014 01:19 PM
Pre-Build Keezer Questions pgoldston Kegerators and Keezers 1 07-17-2011 06:53 PM
Keezer build questions HH60gunner Kegerators and Keezers 11 12-22-2010 05:45 AM
made some progress on my bar build/ keezer build 802VermontHomebrew Kegerators and Keezers 17 08-22-2010 02:20 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS