yeast starter quantity

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Woodland

Reaction score
I've been brewing for over 6 months and am now sold on using yeast starters for all my brews, whether it being a fresh vial of White Labs or my washed/recycled yeast. I'm seeing a difference in opinion (no surprise there) as to the amount of DME required to make an effective starter, anywhere from 50-150 grams of DME. I've been using the pre-measured yeast starter packs from LD Carlson (56.7 grams for $1.50) in 2 cups of boiling water, which they claim is sufficient for 5-10 gallons of wine or beer. Seems to work well enough. I just purchased a stir starter from Dan Jeska with a 2L flask. I made my usual starter, stirred it on the plate for about 26 hours and pitched the whole damn thing (another point of debate) into my Midwest Supplies copper ale wort. I'm reading Dan Jeska's instructions, and he recommends 150 grams of DME for a starter, triple the amount I've been using. Common sense tells me that if what I've been doing is working, why use a larger starter (and spend more money) than what I really need to?

A 2L flask is more than double the size I need, anyone want to trade for a 1L erlenmeyer flask?

Normal starter sizes are approx. 100g (3.5oz) in 1L of water. That's what I use with excellent results. How large of a starter per batch is typically determined by sources such as Mr. Malty. I typically get as close as possible to the amount specified with that calculator, and also get great results. Those pre-packaged kits are getting you pretty close to the correct ratio, if you maintain it.