Would you purchase these pots?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GMCD35

Reaction score
I have always wanted to brew all-grain so I am new in this, but have been reading up on it quite a bit. So now here is the question. I have a opportunity today to buy three pots with burners for $39.95 apiece, total $119.85.

I read the SS versus ALU threads.
I read the 30qt versus 40qt threads.

And i see these as a inexpensive start

These pots are new in box.
Model# 3066A
Bayou Classic 30 quart
55,000 BTU (10 PSI)

What do ya'll think?

Yeah those are only BARELY big enough for a full volume 5 gallon batch. I did a couple batches on something exactly the same size and if I looked away for 1 second the damn thing would boil over. Ended up getting a converted keg and using the 30 quart pot for a hot liquor tank (for which it's perfect).

I have a 28 or 30 quart pot (don't remember) and wish i had gotten bigger. I do have to watch very carefully after I start for boil overs, but after that it is usually fine.

If you can, get a bigger pot, but if you really don't have the money, these will work, but its close. It really only leaves you about 1.5 gallons of room for the boil. I start with 6 gallons and boil down to 5.

Points on pot size are valid, but I still do 6 in a 7.5 gallon pot. Yes, I have to watch for the break and adjust immediately or get a boil over, but I am doing this anyway to minimize scorching on the bottom. I boil outside on concrete and a gallon of tap water on hand is all that is required should it go over.