Wine- First Stab

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

meylo

Reaction score
Hey guys, I've been brewing beer for several years now. The other day my girlfriend showed an interest in brewing wine. I thought that was something we can totally do together. So, I bought all the supplies.

Can someone point me to a good first time recipe? I would love your input.

:drunk::mug:

Look into any of the welches recipes. Theres a bunches of recipes out there and they come out tasty since welches has a pretty good juice to begin with. I'm doing white grape peach and white grape raspberry now and they're tasting awesome. I'm still pretty new to making wine and and they have been good to me. I got my recipes from winemakingtalk.com. They have some good info on there and im slowly picking it up, just gotta sift through it.

Buy a mist type kit. They are easy, quick and darn tasty! Makes the next one easy because you'll have 30 bottles to drink while you wait.

A good wine kit is hard to beat. It gives you a set structure to learn from so if you want to experiment in the future, then you have the base knowledge to go off of.

Welche's wines are a great as well. I always keep a white grape peach on hand at all times. My recipe is as follows:

1 gallon Welche's recipe:

4 cans of Welche's frozen concentrate (any flavor or combination if you like)
1 TBS of loose leaf black tea (I like to use earl grey but any tea works)
1tsp pectic enzyme
1tsp yeast nutrient
1/2 tsp yeast energizer
Water to 1 gallon
Yeast: Lalvin 71b-1112