Willamette hops, spicy and earthy?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bullhog

Reaction score
I was looking for a non noble hop with spicy and earthy qualities, came across Willamette but I’ve never used it before. Going to use it in a bohemian lager. What do you all think of Willamette hops? Any other non noble spicy/earthy hop recommendations?

One of my favorites. I think you will like it in your lager.

I'm not sophisticated enough to identify all the nuances of the flavors, all I can say is I love the flavor of Willamette in lagers and ales. It adds to the malt flavors while providing bittering.

Yep, I'd say you're on the right path with willamette. I use it in cream ales and pseudo American lagers. I'd throw Palisade in as another option. I'm a fan of it in lagers/clean ales, but it might get you into a more herbal/grass category.

I think I wouldn't call it "spicy". I remember the hop pellets to have a very pleasant floral, fruity fragrance, which didn't really come through in the beer too much. "Earthy" seems a more fitting descriptor. I think it's one of those hops which you wouldn't want to be the center of your beer, but they do a fantastic job in a supporting role. Loved it in a porter, for example.

Willamette is closely related to Fuggles, the English noble hop. More earthy/grassy than spicy and I find Willamette slightly metallic. Bohemian pilsner would traditionally use Saaz which is spicy and earthy. I don't quite understand why you are trying to reinvent the wheel here.

I think it's one of those hops which you wouldn't want to be the center of your beer, but they do a fantastic job in a supporting role. Loved it in a porter, for example.