Where to Begin With Water Treatment?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Abbas

Reaction score
I've been brewing for just a few months now and I like to improve something with each brew, whether it's adding equipment or tweaking my process. Water treatment/quality control has been something I've always thought about, but never explored.
Currently I'm using filtered water from my refrigerator filter for brewing.
https://www.hillsboroughcounty.org/library/47b12ebb959a4a84928e4bfd0954ca40.ashx
The link is the report of water quality for my area, but I'm not sure if it is helpful.
Can someone point me in the direction of what I need in order to get my water in check because I'm not even sure where to begin.

The only thing useful from that report, aside from various "poisons" being below Federal requirements, is your water contains Chloramines. Used for keeping your drinking water sanitary.

The carbon filter in your fridge may or may not filter that out for 100%.
The best remedy and only way to make sure it is removed is adding 1/4 crushed Campden tablet, or a "pinch" (1/16 of a tsp actually) of "meta" per 5 gallons of brewing water and stir. It will react within a minute. Done!

First look at the Brewing Water Chemistry Primer Sticky in the Brew Science Forum. It deals with basic water chemistry.

In short, you need a (recent) water report to tell what (brewing specific) minerals and how much of them are in your water. Someone in your area may have one or has posted it somewhere...