What should I do next? And other questions for a newbie.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ian3588

Reaction score
Hey people,

I am a newbie at this. I am almost done with my first brew. It is a moose drool clone. I used the minimash process. I know that it is not going to be perfect but I think it will be okay. I was wondering if any of you have a good brew to try next? I want to perfect the minimash process before moving to all grain. In fact I don't even know what all grain is.

Another question, is it okay to have a little sediment in my secondary fermenter? I know these are dumb question but I'm just learning.

Welcome and congrats on your First Brew! :mug: Nice job jumping straight into partial mashing -- I wasn't that brave and started with extract. Partials are so much more fun though!

I recently bottled my Tallgrass Buffalo Sweat that I made from partial mash, and damn did it turn out good. I recommend trying it!

A little sediment in your secondary is fine. It will settle out and as long as you don't stir it up when you rack again for bottling/kegging, it'll stay out of your finished brew.

One thing I've found since starting this amazing hobby is that the people here on HBT are extremely helpful and friendly, so any questions you have, make sure to ask!

None are dumb questions. In my understanding, minimash plus extract equals all grain. So if you can mash, you can do all grain (process wise, maybe not equipment wise).

What styles do you like? I'm sure to can find a minimash recipe for any style (maybe check the recipe forum on HBT.

Welcome to the forum.