trying to get away from recipe kits

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

michaelob

Reaction score
im a rookie only have 3 brew under my belt. all recipe kits from midwest and all turned out great. Im not set up for all grain but i want more control. I guess my question is I know how to buy the yeasts and extract ,but in the kits the have specialty grains. how do I go about the grains? I drink aot of beer so cutting the cost down would be cool to.

I think trying to make your own recipes may be a bit of a challenge at this point. I'm about 10 brews down the road from you (maybe a few more), and have tried once: it's tricky to get everything to balance.

My advice: either buy a recipe book and start there, or start checking the recipes on this forum and start doing those instead of kits. You can talk to your LHBS owner about any substitutions you may need to make. This way you can start honing in on specific clones of beers you like, and start learning which grains do what to your final product.

-a

Try downloading some brewing software. For example, I use beersmith.

The software will let you experiment with a recipe. You can add different grains. Different hops. Adjust the timing of the hops.

The software is a handy tool for experimentation. It will show you the estimated SG, FG, color, SRM, and bitterness with each ingredient change. Too bad it won't let you taste it too :)

Save the recipes of the kits that you buy. Keep those in the brewing software too. You can use that to replicate the kit without actually buying it as a kit.

I don't think doing your own recipes is tricky, providing you're not trying to push the envelope. You can look at a few recipes of a style and mix-n-match. Or just switch hops and yeast form an existing recipe.