Top off??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

schoch79

Reaction score
What do you guys use to top off your wines after losing some to measuring the gravity or racking to a new carboy. It doesn't take much to take the level a fair bit below the neck of a carboy thus leaving more headspace/exposure to oxygen. I'm still new to all of this but in the past I just use water.

depends what i got brewing, but i havent topped up my port when it was low just because i didn't want to dilute and didn't have a similar wine. as long as it was still fermenting there shouldn't be any oxygenation as there will only be CO2 in the carboy. the port turned out to be the best i've made yet.

I am only using Kits though so they may be more stable then raw ingredients.

i also did my beers with significant volume reductions in the carboy, PA came out fine with 19L in a 23L carboy, IPA will be tested at the end of the week. which was 21L in a 23L carboy again (PA at half volume was too strong IMO without aging, IPA still came out at 6.8% with 2/3 the water and very hoppy :) )

I'll also throw out that small amounts of oxygenation are what leads to ageing, doing so in the carboy could accelerate the ageing process if desired.