Suggestions for an experienced Mead Brewer trying beer.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello all. As the title says, I was hoping to get some suggestions on what's a good style of beer to start with. I've been brewing mead for about 5 years now with great success and learned a lot from experimenting.

However, now I'm starting to grow bored of it, and would like some input on what a good beer to start brewing, that I can build upon and experiment with by adding different things. Although I like porters and stouts, none of my friends do, and I don't have the equipment to pull off a lager.

Currently the only yeast I have experience with is Lalvin-EC1118 and DADY, so some suggestions on yeast would be great too. I prefer dried yeast over other forms.

My heating methods are carboy belts, a bottom pad, or room temperature.

Thanks for y'all's time and input.

I would say try a saison with Danstar Belle Saison yeast. I always add about a pound of honey to mine also. And they taste good with adding things in them. I add cucumbers to mine in the summer, tastes great. And they are okay without temp control.

Oh wow, that sounds amazing. Is it pretty forgiving if you add other fruits to the wort? I'll start with the honey first, though, since that's my wheelhouse.

The best thing to start with is a smash. One malt, one hop. I suggest Maris otter as the malt and, depending what you like more, American hops or European ones, cascade or perle as the hop of choice.

You won't get lost in ingredients and will get to know the ingredients you are using. If you go on from there, changing one variable at the time, you will really start to understand what you are doing and what the different factors do to the taste.